MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

We Can’t Rewind, We’ve Gone Too Far.

Well fellow bloggers, it’s been a good (almost) seven weeks. Before I get into my final social media ramblings, I’d like to thank DeNel for doing such a great job with this class. Every day has been interesting and we’ve had the privilege of engaging with such a variety of communicators and social media experts. I appreciate that we got a lot of information from a lot of different sources, so thank you!

I’ve been trying to think about social media today and figure out exactly what I’ve learned and how my perspective has changed over the past few months. After a few hours of thinking and typing, I can’t find any way to sum it up in a few short paragraphs. And that, I think, is a good sign. 

Every day I’m realizing a little more that social media is changing the way we talk and listen, write and read, argue and agree, accept and reject, process and create. The list goes on and on! We have been given the tools and it is always our decision what to do with them. I’m excited to graduate and head into the ever-changing world of communications as a professional equipped to take on the good, the bad, and the ugly of social media.

Who knows where social media will take us. No one could have guessed that technology would come this far and I have no doubt that we still have a long way to go. One thing I do know, is that we always have to be ready to move forward because things will not stop changing.

Video did kill the radio star…but maybe that wasn’t such a bad thing after all.

June 22, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material | ,

3 Comments »

  1. GREAT video choice Sarah (also such a good song!), it’s a great example of how everything keeps changing and as new professionals entering the work world, we HAVE to keep up with it, or else we’ll fall behind. We have learned to embrace social media, as an alternative not necessarily a substitute, and a concrete knowledge oh how social media is changing will be a great benefit when going into the workforce.

    I’m in total agreement with you in feeling equipped after taking this course. It will definitely help us in knowing how to use social media to send our messages in a professional setting. While our other classes have provided us the knowledge of how to use traditional methods, this class will give us the edge of how to connect with our audiences in ways that are relevant today.

    Comment by sarahmacl | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. I watched a video on YouTube called Did You Know? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpEnFwiqdx8)that says that information is changing so fast that by the time you graduate from university, everything you learned in your first two years are outdated and irrelevant. That is terrifying to me…but absolutely exhilarating at the same time. I think about it and it has to be true. I mean, four years ago I tried to sign up for facebook because my American friends had it and Dalhousie wasn’t one of the networks that you could join. I literally was not able to join it because I went to a Canadian school. Myspace was my life, I religiously kept up a Xanga and e-mail was the most efficient way to communicate. Now, facebook is an international phenomenon that everyone can join, Blogger has become the new Xanga, and I still check my myspace but it is crowded by so much noise in the channel I only spend a minimal amount of time monthly on being involved with it. My world has changed completely. The world has changed completely. In my first year Wikipedia was barely coming to life. Now it’s the first place I search when I want to know what’s going on. Google has essentially taken over the internet when four years ago I used Yahoo as my preferred search engine. Video killed the radio star for sure. And now Podcasts are coming to kill the video star. And I agree, how exciting!

    Comment by deehopkins | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Ah, the good old days when my transistor radio connected me to the world… Great blog!

    Comment by djkm | June 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

