MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

One PR Student’s Optimistic View of Social Media

There has not been an updated blog on the Ascentum site since June 4th so I decided to to my last blog on my thoughts on Social Media thus far.

At times I feel overwhelmed with the vastness of the internet and I think I am not alone when saying that I can easily get social media fatigue. I think the trick is to look at Social Media as an addition to the mediums in which you gain your knowledge and not a replacement for important acts in our lives.

The concept of Social Media reminds me of something my farther said to me when I was in High School.

“There will always be a need for people to specialize in one area of expertise, but if you truly want to understand others it is better to know a little about a lot of things then to know a lot about one thing.”

This is what social media allows. It permits people to dip into the thoughts of others and gain snippets of information otherwise not seen by traditional media. If this holds true social media will help people progress and better understand each other and understanding foster peace.

June 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

