MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How I Learned that Social Media is More Than Just Facebook and You Tube

A few other people have written posts on what they have gotten out of this course, and I have to agree with them. When I signed up for this senior seminar, I never imagined I would learn as much as I did in just a few weeks.

The speakers that we had were able to demonstrate for us how social media is used in the real world of marketing, pr and communications. This was totally new to me, but I found the lectures interesting and will definitely apply my learning in future jobs. Whether we are ready for it or not, social media is something that many  of us are about to face as we enter the working world

Not only did we cover plenty of theory, but we were able to apply our learning to practice. By focusing on different areas of social media each week, we were able to get hands on approach to many different sites. Second Life and Twitter were two websites that I didn’t know much about before starting this course, and now I have experience using both of them. The blog and the wiki were also interesting tools to use- it was really great to be able to integrate them into our learning and actually use them, instead of just learning about them.

I remember Denel mentioning that she thought that in a few years this course would be required for the PR program, and I couldn’t agree more. Social media is becoming a huge part of the PR world and is expanding at an alarming rate. It’s hard to keep up with, but with the training and knowledge that we have gained from this course, I think that we can all say we are a few steps ahead of where we were two months ago.

June 17, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material

1 Comment »

  1. I couldn’t agree more with Nicole. When I started this course I thought I knew enough to get by with Social Media. I was on Youtube, followed blogs, knew about Twitter and used Facebook frequently. Well I soon learned, social media is so much more.

    This course should be mandatory to our program. There is no doubt in my mind that I am going to have to use social media tools in my job. And this course is certainly going to come in handy. Now, not all social media tools are for everyone, it’s like we learned from Martin Delaney you have to measure the tool and find the right fit.

    Tools such as Second life and Wikis, I had never used them. At least through this course I got the chance to explore them. Personally I didn’t like them and don’t think I would recommend them. But at least I know how it works and how it can be useful in “real” life.

    Social Media is now a little less scary but something due to its nature that is hard to keep up with. Who know what they will come out with next? Maybe by graduation, there will be something totally different out.

    Comment by eskimeau | June 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

