MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

farewell my friends!

So this is it, my last will and testament… aka my last official blog post. It’s really sorta sad, but as I reflect on what this blog has taught me, I can’t help be excited.  First, I’m excited that I’ve actually written on a blog, that I didn’t totally suck at it (I think)  and that other people read it . Secondly, I’ve learned so much from all of your posts and looking at all of the assigned websites. And, last but not least I think I  finally get the whole idea of social media.

Looking back, I’m not quite sure why I was so scared of it… seriously let’s break it down: social – well as most of you can probably tell I’m social, almost a bit too much, and media – well that’s just self-explanatory, we are surrounded by media almost every second of our lives.

So, why was I so scared to take the social media plunge? Maybe I’m just scared of change in general, but after this class and engaging in it myself, I don’t think I’ll ever go back to being a ‘social media scardy cat.’ 

I’m glad that I made this transition from old media advocate to social media wannabe in an encouraging and ‘safe’ environment. I realize that I’m no expert and don’t plan on ever being one, but I honestly feel that I’ve acquired some very useful and relevant skills in this class. So thanks!

So I’ll leave you with these wise words from my dear friend Frank (not Frank Ovaitt):

And now, the end is here


And so I face the final curtain


My friend, I’ll say it clear


I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain


I’ve lived a life that’s full


I traveled each and ev’ry highway


And more, much more than this, I did it my way…

 

Such a stretch, but a dramatic close, nonetheless.

June 16, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

