MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I can’t remember the last time I typed a URL

So….. LOVED the presentation on search engine optimization by Calum Nairn. Once I actually started listening to what he was saying and not how he was saying it. My GOD!! He had an attractive accent. Did anybody else think about making their next vacation destination Scotland?  

It is very interesting how many people and organizations there are  that go through all the trouble of making a web page and paying to have it maintained then nobody sees it because NOBODY types in URLs anymore. Personally when I Google which is the only way I visit websites, I rarely even school down to the bottom of the page let alone go to the next page. Yes that says a lot about our society and how lazy we are but that is not the point. People are bombarded with so much information that when they seek out their own they expect it to be easy.

June 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Lets leave tomorrow! I’m coming with you to Scotland. I have realized that I need to make a “friend” that has an attractive accent like Calum.

    On a serious note, I also enjoyed our guest speaker Calum Nairn. I learnt a lot and found it very interesting how people and organizations spend all that time to make sure they are the first they are the first 3 spots of Google. I knew that being on the first page was important, but I guess I never stopped to think how organizations go about doing it.

    Thank you again Calum.

    Comment by Katia Dias | June 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Bethany and Katia,
    Thank you for listening and your kind words, I am blushing as I write….:-)
    Would very much recommend Scotland as a great trip, and if I can be of any help let me know…:-)
    You are very welcome and thanks again.
    Wishing you all the very best,

    Calum

    Comment by Calum Nairn | June 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

