MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

YAY! We officially got the scoop on social media evaluation!

This is great news. Martin Delaney gave an amazing presentation to our class today, I learned a lot. But what’s really interesting is that I already knew some of the information he presented. I guess I just thought there was more to it than there really is.

When Martin said, “participation is the new consumption”, it all really made sense. A Social media campaign really does have a different overall goal than a traditional marketing campaign. Rather than getting people to go out and consume or purchase a product, we really want people coming together to be a part of the process.

So when I thought about measurement and evaluation, I definitely considered most of the things Martin said. It was interesting to hear him compare “soft data” to “hard data”.  In the end your social media evaluation will most likely be comprised of narrative research; talking and listening. I think that in the past, marketers did care about what their customers felt about their brand, but never actually listened. Social media presents us with this incredible opportunity to have this discussion with people, basically free research to enhance marketing initiatives. It’s so exciting!

Martin’s six steps for tracking a social media campaign:

  1. Benchmark
  2. Traffic
  3. Engagement
  4. Brand
  5. Sales
  6. Loyalty

This was really helpful, not only for our current client projects, but I will definitely use this information when I go to my next co-op and out into the working world. I thank DeNel and Martin, this is exactly what I wanted to get out of this course, and everything else is practice and the cherry on the top.

June 11, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

