MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wasting Away in the Twenties

The blog I’m following, Entitled, gives a very interesting look to the world of being twenty and a young professional. One of the issues which really struck a cord with me was the post on wasting time in our twenties.

Being a 24 year-old woman I continually find myself asking the “What am I doing?” question. I already have a degree and in less than a year I will be all done of round number two.  This causes me to ask “When is my life going to start and shouldn’t  I be more something right now?” I feel this is a common isue with the Generation Y types.

We are forced to go to school longer than any pervious generation so a young professional these days will be me, an eager 25 year-old. We constanly hear how we do this and that the wrong way and we’re lazy but I think it may be that we are more mature. Starting out, we are older and have lived through more than our parents did at our age. We take the time to know ourselves before getting married, get one or two degrees to know we can take care of ourselves and travel to understand what else is out there.

I know I have the moments common to other generation Yers where I’m thinking, where have my twenties gone and what have I accomplished. Although, I think since we start doing everything later in life there is a chance we may be more prepared for the rest of life when it happens.

June 8, 2009 - Posted by | Review of Monitored Site

1 Comment »

  1. Hey Katie,

    I was at home this weekend to see my lady friend graduate and the convocation address was given by the legendary Bruce Cockburn. He said a lot of nice things but one thing really stuck with me, Bruce said there is one cliche that has absolutely no truth to it and that is “University are the best years of your life.” To which Bruce replied, “I really started living in my fifties!”

    I started getting the quarter life crisis (I noticed I was getting grey hair and still hitting up the pub) and felt unsure about a lot of things. One thing is for sure, we can be as young or as mature as we want to be because we have been born into an era of unlimited opportunity.

    Enjoy yourself … everyday.
    Matt.

    P.S. I plan on going to Vinnie’s until my late 40’s.

    Comment by emjay08 | June 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

