MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

1 Comment »

  1. I thought that this was an extremely relevant post Dee. It’s an issue we have been facing sine we applied for our first Co-op jobs two years ago and it seems that still, no one has been able to figure out the right answer.

    There are so many personal and professional issues revolving around Facebook. Nearly everyone has it, so how do you maintain any privacy? I know that if I wanted 100% privacy I wouldn’t have joined any networks, or I wouldn’t put up a new album every other week, or maybe I wouln’t be on Facebook at all. But I think that Facebook is an awesome social networking tool and it is one that I use often.

    The professionalism issue is a huge issue these days, especially for those of us who are about to graduate. For one job that I applied for, I was asked to provide a link to any social networking sites that I was a part of. I didn’t want my employer to have access to my personal account for numerous reasons, so I created a professional Facebook account. I joined groups related to Public Relations and only had applications on my profile that were relevant to my school and work life. I thought I had found a good solution, but even having a professional account proved to be flawed when my boss for my next work term requested my friendship on my personal account before I started my job.

    I like how you talk about trying to “control your own web existence,” but unfortunately, for now I don’t think there is a right answer for how to “Facebook” properly.

    Comment by nveitch | June 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

