MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m hip, I’m cool, I skype!

My street cred in the world of social media is about to take a near-fatal blow. I had no idea what Skype was until I started this class.

I can practically hear the wave of gasps and oh no’s as I try to explain myself.

I’ve used sightspeed to stay in contact with my friends, thinking it was the next best thing to sliced bread. Cliched, but sliced bread is pretty awesome in my world. Anyway, I’m getting off track. Skype = awesomeness. Skype opens up so many possiblities for PR practitioners that I’m giddy with excitment to get into the “real world” and start throwing these ideas out. As I’ve mentioned in my last post, I’m a newly hired Media Analyst for a government department in Ottawa. This involves news conferences – and you know what news conferences involves?

Teleconferencing.Yawn. Droning voices coming from a machine without a face. I’ve often listened to reporters on teleconferences and wondered if they looked as boring as they sounded. Now there’s a chance to actually find out!

Skype could be the new teleconferencing. It’s like teleconferencing on crack – the cat nip for PR professionals. The use of video conferencing, while not a new idea, is something that my peers in the workforce almost feared. What if there was a glitch? What if there was reverb? All valid fears, but I believe my co-workers were thinking of the hazards of teleconferencing the old way with satellite an an actual video camera. Today, all you need is a web camera and a laptop.

Not only do you save costs by having a web conference, you’re increasing the potential volume of media in attendance (I know I’m repeating myself from my last post, but it’s just so awesome to me). Think of a traditional news conference in a board room or hotel with maybe a dozen local media in attendance. Add a video conferencing element, and I’ve got reporters from the Associated Press, reporters in Britain, Austrailia Newswire, etc. The list is endless and the globe can be infintismly small when considering the possibilities.

So, until I’m in the workforce and have the opportunity to be a part of this, I’ll continue my giddy excitement of Skype (and Sightspeed).

Cheers,

Heather



June 7, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

