MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

If You Build It, Will They Actually Come?

In the same spirit as many other recent blog posts, I too really enjoyed Harold Simons’ presentation via Skype on Wednesday. I am starting to learn a valuable lesson in the realm of social media—don’t knock it ‘til you try it. Now, I don’t think this mantra applies to everything; however, as an outsider looking in on the Rogers Plus internal website, initially I was quick question their social media strategy. Do they really expect employees to jump on board with an interactive internal site? What about when the hype wears off and they are left with a lacklustre employee gossip page frequented by five disgruntled employees?

I know, I know, hard to believe I could be so cynical. Realistically, I’m always a little hesitant to believe that new initiatives are really as great as they sound. In this day and age we see beautiful words, beautiful pictures and beautiful people promoting beautiful things all the time. But until you actually try on the dress, use the new vacuum cleaner, drive that car, or try out the new interactive website, it’s hard to know if it’s all as beautiful as it sounds.

As Harold continued with his presentation, I realized that Rogers Plus really does seem to have a good thing going. It is encouraging to hear that Rogers has found a way to increase employee involvement, start dialogue, and enhance organizational culture through social media. Nothing is perfect, but I can tell that Rogers Plus has a positive attitude and an effective strategy when it comes to the use of social media as an internal communications tool. Am I ready to pitch this idea to an organization? Am I ready to believe that social media really can benefit an entire organization (internally and externally)? Lots to think about…but I know one thing is for sure, I am a cynic no more.

June 7, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

