MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What’s All the Hype? SKYPE!

Today’s class was one of the coolest yet.  Thanks again to Harold for the early wake up! This was my first time using Skype, as I think it was for many of us, and I truly enjoyed the experience. How technically savvy AM I now?

Using Skype was very eye opening. It made me realize just HOW MUCH social media is taking over . What I’m unsure of is however,  is that necessarily a bad thing?

We talk constantly about the debate between “face-to-face”, “person-to-person” communication or the use of social media tools. Which one is better? Which one relays the message better? A strong argument for “face-to-face” communication is that we are able to hear the person speak, listen to the emotion in their voice, see their hand gestures and the emotions on their face…HELLO SKYPE! It gives us everything, and yet we are not technically “face-to-face”.

Is it true? Have social media tools actually mastered achieving person-to-person meetings?

Personally, I think that holding a meeting via Skype (for business purposes) truly achieves the same affects as if the meeting was being held in a boardroom. The only difference is that you don’t get stuck sitting next to the person who had a caesar salad with a side of garlic hummus for lunch.  And that person with the nasty cold? Safely shielded behind the monitor.

Thoughts on Skype taking over the business meeting world?

Signing off..

Hilary

June 4, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material |

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Hilary,
    Great post! The whole debate over which communications medium is most effective can sometimes make you feel like you’re forced to choose one side or the other. On one hand, you have new technological communications tools that are cost effective, wide reaching and audience specific. While, on the other hand, you have interpersonal communications that is more personal, yet costly and time consuming. I see Skype as a great tool that allows you to achieve the best of both forms of communication. As you mentioned, hosting meetings via Skype would be a great way to conduct interdepartmental business. I know that something like Skype would have definitely improved my experience during my last coop. I worked with a team of 6 other communicators, however five of them were in Moncton, New Brunswick. We spoke regularly during weekly teleconferences, but I never got to put a face to the name. I was able to hear their voices, but it was very impersonal and made it difficult for me to feel like I was part of any sort of team dynamic. I think Skype would have made my experience a little more enjoyable and possibly even improved employee communication. Let’s hope more businesses are open to using this as a tool for employee and stakeholder relations.
    Holly

    Comment by hollyfleming | June 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

