MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back (or) to the future

 

Historic Properties Halifax

Historic Properties Halifax

My blog, as many of yours, has not been updating as regularly as I need it to for this class, so I started checking out some past entries. One entry from February discussed the closure of an almost 150 year-old newspaper and how it’s employees shared their feelings and pictures about their experience on a blog.

The interesting thing, as the author points out, is that social media and the evolution of technologies is usually one of the first things that is used as a reason for print media and other traditional tools becoming defunct, but in this case it is used as a cathartic experience.

Basically, despite their sadness the employees used the very tools that possibly lead to their demise. This got me to thinking about how sentimental we are in regards to the past, and more specifically how willing are we to let traditional media be replaced by new media tools?  

 

The author in a reply to a comment mentions this example:

“… we visited the Wupatki National Monument in Arizona and found it amusing that the very premise of the park, which conserves ancient Anasazi dwellings is against the philosophy of those people, who believed that old buildings, etc. should be recycled for the benefit of the living and not kept as monuments to the past.”

It’s an interesting dilemma – preserving the past or ushering in the future. From a strategic and efficiency standpoint I’d have to agree with the Anasazi people, but from something deep down inside I almost feel a little sad that the old newspaper went under. I wonder if it is a human instinct to be sentimental or if in our immortality-obsessed society we just want to see things last.. because it gives us a little bit of hope for the future?

Just living here in NS, with the historic properties and the constant fight over the importance of preserving the past before embracing the future – has to make you wonder what’s really more important?

I’ve always thought there was a way to balance the respect for the old while accepting the new, but as the world continues to change at such a rapid pace, will we even have the chance too?

With all of the social media tools that have been in and out with the blink of an eye it’s easy to wonder whether anything anymore will even leave a lasting impression, or give anyone the reason to hold on and fight for it at all.   

Over and out.

Bailey

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | Review of Monitored Site | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Bee,

    This post was great! It was so interesting to read how the employees of the 150 year old company were BLOGGING about the sadness of its closure.

    This blog post raised questions in my mind that I had never thought of before (my favorite kind of blog to read!)

    The debate on whether or not to keep historic properties/monuments around is ongoing, and I too agree with the Anasazi people (pretty smart folk, way ahead of their time). But I also agree with you in that there’s a piece of me that wants to keep these little bits of history around.

    In a world where social media is steadily taking over, it’s nice to have some landmarks of our history still around. I would hate to live in a “George Jetson” world, wiped of all memories of our past. I mean don’t get me wrong, floating sidewalks are cool, and flying cars…ingenious. But as I’m flying along in my car, I’d still like to be able to look out of my window and point out to my kids “look sweetie, that’s where they used to make newspapers. The things that people would read every morning to find out about what was happening in the world.”

    Although technology is a great thing, and the way social media is progressing is absolutely fantastic, I still feel as though we shouldn’t make history completely obsolete.

    …and here I am, blogging to preserve history. It’s a vicious cycle.

    Comment by Hilary | June 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

