MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Still a fan of real life.

Worlds in cyberspace are becoming a much larger part of our world. People now have the ability to make a second identity for themselves and in a sense be the person they wish they could be in real life, or as it now called “offline”.

Having used Second Life yesterday for the first time and stumbled through the different worlds in my beautiful outfit. For me, I struggle with the idea of having two identities, one which I live in and the other I live through via my computer. I do see the advantages to these type of cyber reality worlds with the need to become more connected with people throughout the world but for me I find it odd to talk to someone I know I will never meet.

This may be a simple first timer-use anxiety and hesitation to this type of world. To be quite honest I am not even really sure what I am supposed to be doing once I have entered this world but I am much more comfortable meeting colleagues through face to face methods. With the introduction of Skype and web-casting I believe face to face meetings are possible from opposite sides of the world and people will be able to use their true self.

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material

1 Comment »

  1. Katie,

    I agree with you completely in regards to the struggle of having two identities, one in real life and one online.

    Today in another MSVU class, Second Life came up and a few interesting stories that have appeared in the news recently. One news story that was brought up was about two identities and infidelities that are occurring in Second Life as the participants do not believe this is a form of cheating.

    It makes me think? Could this be a form of cheating, as emotions are felt online even though the physical aspect of the relationship is stripped away.

    Comment by jenniferspicer01 | May 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

