MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Flying collegues…Great Business Opportunity?

Today I got to change my name, my looks and even fly. Not every day does someone gets to say this. Ok well I didn’t really do it myself but my avatar in Second life did. What an experience it was. I’m not sure what to think of Second life. Maybe if I was more inclined to video games; I would have enjoyed this virtual world better. However, I don’t know about the rest of you but I felt I needed to shout out to my group members what I was about to do and where I was going before typing it out.

After my short experience lived in Second life, I am questioning its credibility. How can you evaluate the credibility of an avatar? I mean you can strip your clothes wherever you want. We don’t do that in a professional setting! But in Second life everyone can see you in your bra and underwear while you’re changing your appearance. This to me does not scream business deal.

Personally, I feel that Second life is more social than business and find it hard to take it seriously. By time, I had figured out how to stop jumping on the furniture and to sit on it, I was done. (too confusing for right now)

For now, I think I’m going to stick to face to face meetings.

May 27, 2009 - Posted by | Comment on Course Material

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

