MSVU Social Media Course Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spark and The Adventures of Team Digital Preservation

The blog I was assigned to follow throughout the course is the online component of a CBC Radio show called Spark.  So what is Spark? And I quote…”Spark is a weekly audio blog of smart and unexpected trendwatching. It’s not just technology for gearheads, it’s about the way technology affects our lives, and the world around us” (http://www.cbc.ca/spark/about-spark/).

To be honest, as some others have mentioned, this first week has been a little overwhelming as I’ve begun to discover just how much I don’t know about the World Wide Web. I was excited to find out that I’m following a CBC blog because CBC.ca already plays a role in my daily internet routine. As far as I can tell, Spark is a smart, well-written blog that touches on just about everything you could imagine in the world of technology.

The first article I read on Spark was “The Future of Our Digital Heritage (or “Why Metadata Matters”)”   http://www.cbc.ca/spark/2009/05/the-future-of-our-digital-heritage-or-why-metadata-matters/. The article talks about digital preservation and asks the question: how do we design systems to preserve the vast quantities of digital information we’re now creating?

It’s an interesting concept to think about. I’m one of those people who keeps just about everything on my computer. I have music, pictures, school work, and a multitude of other important files, and while I do have a few trusty USB’s that serve as ‘back-up’ if my Toshiba goes haywire, I don’t really understand how digital preservation works. I expect that when I save a document to my computer it will be sent to some digital universe where important information is magically kept (intact) forever and ever, amen. But does it really work like that? Are we putting faith in machines that may not have the capacity to maintain the mass amount of data we are feeding them?

If this makes you wonder about all your files dangerously floating around in the digital universe, check out the article and watch the quirky, yet brilliant, YouTube video about various threats to digital information. The video alone is worth it.

May 18, 2009 - Posted by | Review of Monitored Site | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

